Count Basie & Duke Ellington First Time! – The Count Meets The Duke 1x LP 180 gr. HQ Vinyl

Release date: 25-09-2008 (originally release from 1961) 

2008 UK issue 8-track 180 gram virgin vinyl LP audiophile re-mastered limited edition – This legendary 1961 date has a friendly after-hours feel, with the Ellington crew in the right channel and the Basie band in the left. They both deliver the type of no-nonsense straight-ahead jazz that characterized the best of the big-band sound. The sparring here between soloists of both bands is a pure delight, especially the gentle conversations between the two leaders-pianists, who finish each other’s thoughts as if all four hands were attached to one unified torso – Sealed and stickered in original artwork sleeve.

01. Battle Royal
02. To You
03. Take The A Train
04. Until I Met You
05. Wild Man
06. Segue In C
07. BDB
08. Jumpin’ At The Woodside

The musical event which is presented in this album is without precedent in the history of jazz. History largely consists of chronicling momentous occasions and it was such an occasion when the full orchestras of Duke Ellington and Count Basie recorded together on July 6, 1961. The result is almost an embarrassment of riches. It is great in significance, great in musical content and, above all, great in demonstrating the two famous leaders’ mutual appreciation and understanding of each other. At first glance this collaboration should not have worked. The Duke Ellington and Count Basie orchestras had already been competitors for 25 years but the leaders’ mutual admiration (Ellington was one of Basie’s main idols) and some brilliant planning made this a very successful and surprisingly uncrowded encounter. On most selections Ellington and Basie both play piano (their interaction with each other is wonderful) and the arrangements allowed the stars from both bands to take turns soloing.




This entry was posted in JAZZ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Count Basie & Duke Ellington First Time! – The Count Meets The Duke 1x LP 180 gr. HQ Vinyl

  1. notitiae says:

    Nice graphics… Great ! Wonderfull post, greetings for the blog too, by NotitiAe.
    We suggest our link, photoes and video at: Gabin

    Simona Molinari international star at:

    Good reading… in Italian but musica is internationale… No?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s