The Rolling Stones Debut Album

The first Rolling Stones Album titled “The Rolling Stones” was released in the UK in 1964. The US version of this album was released a few months later with a different title; it was called “England’s Newest Hit Makers”.

Mick Jagger and Keith Richards have been the main songwriters for the Stones over the past forty years but in this, there first album they only wrote one of the tracks, called “Tell Me You’re Coming Back”. The other tracks were written by many top artists of the time.

Track List

1. “Route 66” this song was written by Bobby Troup and is also know as “Get Your Kicks On Route 66

2. “I Just Want to Make Love to You” written by Willie Dixon in 1954 and has been recorded by many artist over the past fifty years

3. “Honest I Do” A blues number written by Jimmy Reed

4. “Mona I Need You Baby” written by Ellas McDaniel, later to be known as Bo Diddley

5. “Now I’ve Got a Witness Like Uncle Phil and Uncle Gene” written by Nanker Phelge

6. “Little by Little” written by Nanker Phelge and Phil Spector

7. “I’m a King Bee” written by James Moore also know as Slim Harpo

8. “Carol” written by Chuck Berry

9. “Tell Me You’re Coming Back” written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards

10. “Can I Get a Witness” written by Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, Eddie Holland

11. “You Can Make It If You Try” Ted Jarrett

12. “Walking the Dog” written by Rufus Thomas and covered by many popular artists

There first album was an instant success, reaching No 1 in the UK Top 20 Album charts and No 4 in the Billboard Pop Album charts.

Many of the tracks on this album were drawn from there first UK tour in 1963. On this tour, they were a supporting act to a number of American R&B acts, which was a great learning curve for the future song writing team of Mick Jagger and Keith Richards.

Prior to the tour the Stones had released two singles, their first debut single was a Chuck Berry song called “Come On” released in 1963 and there second single, written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney called “I Wanna Be Your Man” was released in the same year. The Beatles also recorded this song, but in Beatles style of course, good old Rock&Roll. The Stones version was a Blues version. Both the Rolling Stones singles did very well and hit the UK top twenty charts.


This entry was posted in POP, rock and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s